The seven seas refer to the seven oceanic bodies of water in the earth. This phrase has been used since ancient times to refer to the bodies of water at different times and places. Nowadays, this phrase is not used that often but you could say that the Seven Seas include the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern Oceans.

Below are some facts about our oceans and seas.


The largest sea is the Bering Sea, which is a marginal sea of the Pacific Ocean. It has 876,000 sq. miles or 2,270,000 sq. kilometers. It is separated by the Alaska Peninsula from the Gulf of Alaska. The sea is home to many whale species including the beluga, humpback whale, bowhead whale, gray whale and the blue whale.

The largest inland body of water in the world is the Caspian Sea. Five countries are sharing its coastline, namely:  Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Turkmenistan. But technically, Caspian sea is a lake. This is because if a body of water is known as a sea, the international traffic must be allowed through it. If it is a lake, it is not required.


The warmest and the saltiest sea in the world is the Red Sea. Depending on which part you measure, it has a temperature that ranges from 68 degrees to 87.8 degrees F and has 41 parts of salt per 1,000 parts of water. It lies between Asia and Africa.

The coldest seas are the seas located near the poles.  These include Greenland, Barents, Beaufort, Kara, Laptev and East Siberian Seas in the north pole and Weddell and Ross Seas in the south pole. They are also referred to as Polar Seas, which refers to the Arctic Ocean and the southern part of the Southern Ocean. There are numerous animals that are supported by the polar seas including polar bear, reindeer, wolverine, harp seal, and walrus.